Which states have adopted the UBE

Which States have Adopted the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE)?

*Updated October 29, 2020

The Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) is an exam promulgated by the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE). More and more states are adopting this uniform test, which, rather than testing any specific state law, tests the majority law. As of the initial writing of this post, March 7, 2016, 21 states had adopted the Uniform Bar Exam. As of this writing (in 2020), 38 states have adopted the Uniform Bar Exam. It is being quickly adopted across the nation! These states are listed below.

Please be sure to check the NCBE’s website as well for the latest information!

Which States have Adopted the UBE?

The 38 jurisdictions that have adopted, or soon will adopt, the UBE are:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arizona
  5. Colorado
  6. Connecticut
  7. Idaho
  8. Illinois
  9. Iowa
  10. Kansas
  11. Kentucky
  12. Maine
  13. Maryland
  14. Massachusetts
  15. Minnesota
  16. Missouri
  17. Montana
  18. Nebraska
  19. New Hampshire
  20. New Jersey
  21. New Mexico
  22. New York
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Ohio
  26. Oklahoma (as of July 2021)
  27. Oregon
  28. Rhode Island
  29. South Carolina
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas (starting February 2021)
  32. Utah
  33. Vermont
  34. Washington
  35. Washington DC
  36. West Virginia
  37. Wyoming
  38. U.S. Virgin Islands

Some predicted that after the state of New York announced its adoption of the UBE beginning for the July 2016 bar exam, that every state would eventually switch to a UBE state. There are differing theories on whether states will follow suit and adopt the UBE—as well as whether they should adopt the UBE.

Some people think a uniform test is needed as it provides uniformity in grading and allows lawyers to transfer to other states to practice. They say that testing power should be within the hands of the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) which has more testing resources and experience.

Others think that the NCBE shouldn’t have so much power, that the bar exam is already “uniform” enough with the multistate bar exam, and that the idea that lawyers can easily transfer their scores to other jurisdictions is faulty (since most scores are only good for two to five years anyway, thus requiring a lawyer to sit for a bar exam and/or apply for character and fitness clearance after that time period anyway, regardless of which state bar exam they passed).

Regardless of whether the move toward the UBE is good or bad, the trend toward adopting the UBE continues, as more states move to adopt the test each year.

More information

To read more about what the Uniform Bar Exam is like, please see this post on the Uniform Bar Exam.

Looking for a fresh, new approach to the Uniform Bar Exam? We specialize in helping first-time and repeat takers pass the bar exam. Check out the advantages of taking our affordable on demand course here.


    The Evolution of the Multistate Essay Exam: Why Family Law May Be

    […] Essay Exam is composed of six 30-minute questions.  Included in these 35 states, are the 22 states that have adopted the Uniform Bar Exam  (a bar exam composed of the Multistate Essay Exam, two Multistate Performance Tests, and the […]

    Is Michigan Adopting the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE)?

    […] far, 21 states have adopted the UBE. (To see the list of jurisdictions that have adopted the UBE, click here). The UBE is a relatively new test – the first jurisdiction to adopt it was Missouri, which […]

Comments are closed.